Nevada Department of EducationNevada Department of Education

    Competency Testing Requirements

    Pursuant to NAC 391.036, all applicants for a Nevada educator license are required to pass the Praxis series of competency tests, which are administered by the Educational Testing Service (ETS) completed within five (5) years prior to application for licensure. When you are taking any Praxis tests, be sure to specify the Nevada Department of Education as a score recipient (recipient code 8670) if you would like ETS to transmit your test scores to us electronically. Test times and locations are listed on the ETS Praxis Testing website below.

    The relevant section in Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) specifying the requirements to hold this license type are below:

    Pursuant to NAC 391.056, an applicant for initial licensure who has not completed all required competency testing may be issued a non-renewable/provisional license which is valid for three (3) years and given two (2) years in order to complete the necessary tests.

    Please note, certain regulations governing testing requirements have recently been amended, see below for important information to the testing requirements:

    Required testing for most licenses includes:

    • Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators - This is a series of three tests covering Reading, Writing, and Mathematics. The Praxis Core tests replace the Praxis I/Pre-Professional Skills Test (PPST) series of tests previously administered by ETS. You cannot combine passing test scores from the two series; if you have not previously passed all three parts of the PPST, you will need to take and pass all three of the Core Academic Skills for Educators tests in order to be licensed in Nevada. If you have previously passed all three portions of the PPST completed within the last five (5) years, you do not need to take the Praxis Core exams.
      • There are currently two (2) versions of the Praxis Core tests for reading, writing, and math.
        • The previous Praxis Core test numbers are: 5712 (reading), 5722 (writing), and 5732 (math) and the NDE will continue to accept these test scores.
        • The newer Praxis Core test numbers are: 5713 (reading), 5723 (writing), and 5733 (math).
        • The only difference in testing is that the new math test has been revised to remove geometry.
        • The NDE will accept passing test scores for all 3 of the new, all 3 of the previous, or a combination of both. 

    • Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) - This is a pedagogy test required for most areas of licensure. Two separate tests are offered, for grades K-6 and for grades 7-12. Applicants should take the Principles of Learning and Teaching test appropriate to the grade level for which they desire to be licensed. 
    • Content Area Tests - Many areas of licensure require content knowledge tests which are specific to the subject to be taught. To determine which content area test(s) may be required for a particular area of licensure or endorsement, visit the ETS Praxis Testing website. If you already hold a valid Nevada educator license and are applying for an additional endorsement which would normally require content area testing, the content test for that endorsement will be waived. 

      Reciprocal Licenses

      Applicants who hold a valid, non-conditional, non-provisional, and unexpired educator license from another state or country may be eligible for reciprocal licensure in Nevada. Visit our New Teachers (out of state) page or Foreign Educators page to determine if your license qualifies for reciprocity.

        Testing Assistance

        ETS offers a Test At Home option, free testing preparation options; Khan Academy and candidate webinars, ADA testing accommodations, and second language accommodations.

        Testing Exceptions

        NAC 391.036 provides for the following exceptions to Nevada's competency testing requirements.

        Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Applicants for licensure will not be required to pass the Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators tests if they have met one of the following requirements:

        • Have passed a basic skills test that is determined by the NDE to be equivalent to the “Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators” in reading, mathematics, and writing.

        • Received a master’s or more advanced degree from a regionally accredited college or university and completed within five (5) years immediately preceding the date on which their application was submitted the Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) prepared and administered by ETS or its equivalent and received a score which was at or above midpoint of the score range in effect at the time of examination.
        Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): An applicant for licensure who meets one of the following requirements will not be required to pass the Principles of Learning and Teaching test:
        • Has applied for a license in one of the following areas: school counselor, school psychologist, school nurse, school social worker, speech and language impairments, business and industry, early childhood, early childhood developmentally delayed, or elementary.

        • Submits to the Department official documentation indicating that the applicant has passed the Professional Knowledge Test prepared and administered by the Educational Testing Service (ETS) within the five (5) years immediately preceding the date on which his or her application was submitted and at the level of competency specified by the Commission.

        Praxis Content Area Exam: Applicants for licensure who meet one of the following requirements will not be required to pass the appropriate content area exam:

        • Is applying for an endorsement in speech and language impairments and holds a Certificate of Clinical Competence issued by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA).

        • Is applying for an endorsement in family and consumer sciences, and has completed the Family and Consumer Sciences Certification Examination administered by the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS).