Nevada Department of EducationNevada Department of Education

    Three Clark County School District Students Named in 2018 U.S. Presidential Scholars

    Immediate Release

    May 08, 2018

    CARSON CITY, Nev. – Three students from the Clark County School District are among 161 high school seniors being honored as U.S. Presidential Scholars for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields.

    Andrew T. Wang from Clark High and Leah Yim from West Career and Technical Academy were honored for academics. Alisha M. Yi from Clark High was honored for her accomplishments in the arts.

    “Speaking for all Nevadans, we are so proud of these three very bright students who are being honored nationally today,” said Steve Canavero, Ph.D., Superintendent of Public Instruction. “These three students set a wonderful example for all of Nevada’s students.”

    U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos today announced the 54th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars.

    "I want to congratulate this year’s class of Presidential Scholars on their achievement and also thank their parents, teachers and other academic advisors who have helped guide them along the way,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos. “These students have pushed themselves to be the best they can be, and I am certain that devotion will serve them well as they continue their individual learning journeys.”

    The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations, and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

    Of the 3.6 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 5,200 candidates qualified for the 2018 awards determined by outstanding performance on the College Board SAT and ACT exams and through nominations made by Chief State School Officers, other partner recognition organizations, or the National YoungArts Foundation’s nationwide YoungArts™ competition.

    The 2018 U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad. In addition, 15 at-large students, 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts, and 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in Career and Technical Education are chosen.

    Created in 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program has honored almost 7,500 of the nation’s top-performing students with the prestigious award given to honorees during the annual ceremony in Washington. The program was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary, and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

    The 2018 ceremony will be held June 24, when each honoree will receive a Presidential Scholar Medallion.
    A complete list of 2018 U.S. Presidential Scholars follows and is also available at


    Greg Bortolin