Nevada Department of EducationNevada Department of Education

    Governor Sisolak and Superintendent Ebert Honor 2022 Nevada Teacher of the Year Deanne Moyle-Hicks at Surprise Assembly in Washoe County School District

    September 20, 2021

    CARSON CITY, Nev. – Today, Governor SteveSisolak joined State Superintendent of Public Instruction Jhone Ebert to announce that Ms. Deanne Moyle-Hicks was named the 2022 Nevada Teacher of theYear during a surprise assembly celebration.

    ANational Board-Certified teacher, Ms. Hicks teaches fourth-grade students at Natchez Elementary School. A guest on the Pyramid Lake Paiute Reservation, she has served northern Nevada students for 28 years. Ms. Hicks advocates for education that embraces and empowers all students of diverse cultures.

    “Throughout her 28-year teaching career, Deanne Moyle-Hicks’ passion and care have positively impacted the lives of countless students in Nevada,” said GovernorSisolak. “She is a lifelong Nevadan and a lifelong learner who models hard work and perseverance to her students daily. It is more important now than ever to recognize and uplift the dedicated teachers who continue to make learning engaging and accessible for students, and Ms. Hicks is a phenomenal example of this approach.”

     “Our 2022 Teacher of the Year, Ms. Hicks, demonstrates several qualities that make her an exemplary teacher, including her passion in bringing an equitable education to each and every child, her cultivation of family partnerships to positively impact student success, and her work to support students’ social-emotional health,” said Superintendent Ebert.“ I am grateful to have educators like Ms. Hicks leading the way for Nevada’s students,and we are thrilled to honor her as our 2022 Nevada Teacher of the Year!”  

    “Ms.Hicks is an educator, leader, and inspiration, and we are grateful to have her in our school community,” said Jake Chapin, Principal at Natchez ElementarySchool. “Her dedication to our students and school community is unmatched; every morning, Ms. Hicks drives 45 miles to teach the students and families she loves at Natchez Elementary and on the Pyramid Lake Paiute Reservation. We truly appreciate working in Washoe County, a district that recognizes the unique needs of our community and families and provides the support necessary for teachers like Ms. Hicks to work her magic.”

    “Iam thrilled to celebrate this well-deserved award for Ms. Deanne Moyle-Hicks,” saidWCSD Superintendent Dr. Kristen McNeill. “She has forged strong connections with her families and worked in partnership with them to enable deep and meaningful engagement with her students. She not only brings joy and enthusiasm for 21st-century learning to her fourth-grade classroom, but she also serves as a tireless advocate for her students and families. We are so proud to honor her, and grateful that her work is being highlighted across the State.”

    Ms. Hicks is a lifelong Nevadan and an alumna of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.Impassioned about global learning and innovation in education, she completed her student teaching in New Zealand. Ms. Hicks works extensively as a teacher leader in roles including Teach Plus Nevada Policy Fellow, national UnderstoodFellow, and Nevada National Board Professional Learning Network member. She has also collaborated with Opportunity 180, the Nevada PTA, and Nevada Succeeds, and works with the Teachers and Leaders Council and the national Teach PlusTeacher Cabinet.  

    Themission of the Nevada Teacher of theYear program is to celebrate excellence and strengthen the teachingforce by honoring and recognizing exceptional teachers on a school, district, State, and national level.  The Nevada Teacher of the Year is chosen from nominated individuals who are then invited to apply. After a rigorousapplication and interview process, five finalists were sentto Jhone Ebert, Superintendent of Public Instruction, to makethe final selection. 

    Thefour finalists for the 2022 Nevada Teacher of theYear are:   

    • Jeanine Roser of WestCareer and Technical Academy in Clark County School District
    • JenniferHurt of Desert Rose High School in Clark County SchoolDistrict
    • RachelCroft of Bordewich Bray Elementary School in CarsonCity School District
    • LissaKellogg of Yerington Elementary School in Lyon County SchoolDistrict  

    Theprogram is facilitated nationally by the Council of Chief StateSchool Officers (CCSSO). Along with its sponsors, CCSSO brings together StateTeachers of the Year from all 50 states, U.S. territories, Washington, DC, and the Department of Defense Education Activity.  Ms. Hicks  will represent Nevada in the National Teacher of the Year competition. In 2021, Nevada’s Teacher of the Year, Ms. Juliana Urtubey, was recognized as the National Teacher of theYear by CCSSO.

    AsNevada’s 2022 Teacher of the Year, Ms. Hicks will represent the Silver State in the National Teacher of the Year competition. Visit the Nevada Department ofEducation’s Teacher of the Year“Hall of Fame” to view previous recipients. The National Teacher of the Year program is facilitated by the Council of Chief State School Officers(CCSSO). Along with its sponsors, CCSSO brings together State Teachers of the Year from all 50 states, U.S. territories, Washington, DC, and the Department of Defense Education Activity. For more information about the National Teacher of the Year Program.



    Allegra Demerjian
    Public Information Officer