Nevada Department of EducationNevada Department of Education

    Blue Ribbon Commission for a Globally Prepared Nevada


    The school building closures that began in Nevada on March 16, 2020 and continued through the end of the school year forced a rapid shift in instructional delivery models. We are proud that district and school leaders, teachers, families, and students stepped up to continue teaching and learning during a difficult time and under less than ideal circumstances. The fast and complete shift to distance learning in all of Nevada’s schools created opportunities for innovation as well as exposed challenges in our policy infrastructure and system capacity to address the needs of every student in a non-traditional setting. In reviewing the laws and regulations relevant to instructional delivery, it became clear that there is a need not only to update policies to meet our current reality, but also to lay a foundation for instructional delivery that will support the State’s long-term ambition to ensure every student graduates with the skills they need to build a home, a life, and a future, or – as we call it – globally prepared.


      State Superintendent of Public Instruction Jhone Ebert convened the Blue Ribbon Commission to make recommendations to adjust our current policy framework to meet today’s learning conditions, while also leaving room for policies that will support innovation for the next 10 or 20 years. The Commission examines existing State laws, regulations, and policies, and makes recommendations regarding revisions that will increase flexibility for districts and schools. Topics addressed in the Commission’s work include, but are not limited to, competency-based education, distance learning, independent study, and instructional time.

        Commission Members

        • Dr. Mary Alber, Founding Director, Education Innovation Collaborative
        • Felipe Avila, Student, East Career and Technical Academy, Clark County School District
        • Rick Benbow, Regional Vice President, Western Governors University
        • Bridget Bilbray-Phillips, Chief Academic and Operations Officer, Doral Academy of Nevada
        • Cammie Briggs, Principal, David E. Norman Elementary School, White Pine County School District
        • Mary H. Bryant, Program Director, University of Nevada, Reno Path to Independence Program
        • Clarissa M. Cota, J.D., Vice President/Provost, North Las Vegas Campus, College of Southern Nevada
        • Darlin Delgado, Principal, Rancho High School, Clark County School District
        • Moises “Mo” Denis, Nevada State Senator
        • Rebecca Garcia, President, Nevada PTA
        • Melissa Gruenhagen, Principal, Cristo Rey St. Viator
        • Mandi Harenberg, Teacher, Clark County School District
        • Danica G. Hays, Ph.D., Interim Dean and Professor, University of Nevada, Las Vegas College of Education
        • Christine Hull, Parent, Nevada PTA & Nevada Center for Civic Engagement
        • Vihaan Jain, Student, West Career and Technical Academy, Clark County School District
        • Jesus F. Jara, Ed.D., Superintendent of Schools, Clark County School District
        • Lynn M. Jeka, Teacher / STEM Coach, Yerington Elementary School, Lyon County School District
        • Dr. Bryn E. Lapenta, Senior Director, Student Accounting, Washoe County School District
        • Jana Wilcox Lavin, Executive Director, Opportunity 180
        • Gracey Ledbetter, Student, Silver Stage FFA & Spring Creek High School, Elko County School District
        • Robert Mars, Principal, Shadow Ridge High School, Clark County School District
        • Lisa M. Martin, Principal, Ollie Detwiler Elementary School, Clark County School District
        • Daniele Monroe-Moreno, Nevada State Assemblywoman
        • Shelly Nee, Media Specialist, Pershing County High School, Pershing County School District
        • Mario Pabon, President, Empower America
        • Patrick Peters, Principal, Silver Stage High School, Lyon County School District
        • Immer Liza Ravalo, Principal, Dell H. Robison Middle School, Clark County School District
        • Bryon Richardson, Executive Director, Leadership Academy of Nevada
        • Ben Salkowe, Principal, Equipo Academy
        • Kamara Snearly, Teacher, Incline High School, Washoe County School District
        • Dr. Summer E. Stephens, Superintendent, Churchill County School District
        • Pam Teel, Superintendent, Lincoln County School District
        • Jill Tolles, Nevada State Assemblywoman
        • Lance West, Principal, Schurz Elementary School, Mineral County School District
        • Alissa Wood, Head of Communities and Corporate Affairs, Nevada Gold Mines
        • Grace Yim, Student, Edward C. Reed High School, Washoe County School District


          • Felicia Gonzales, Deputy Superintendent for Educator Effectiveness and Family Engagement
          • Dr. Jonathan Moore, Deputy Superintendent for Student Achievement
          • Sarah Nick, Management Analyst to the Superintendent
          • Jessica Todtman, Chief Strategy Officer
          • Dave Brancamp, Director, Office of Standards and Instructional Support
          • Craig Statucki, Director, Office of Career Readiness, Adult Learning, and Education Options
          • Amanda Pinter, Administrative Assistant, Office of Standards & Instructional Support

            Subject Matter Experts

            • Karla Phillips-Krivickas, Senior Director of Policy, KnowledgeWorks
            • Julianna Charles “Charlie” Brown, Director of Systems Transformation, KnowledgeWorks