Governor Sisolak Names McCormick-Lee as Chair of 11-Member Commission on School Funding

August 28, 2019

CARSON CITY, Nev. – Dr. Karlene McCormick-Lee was named by Governor Steve Sisolak today to chair the 11-member Commission on School Funding that will help guide the process of developing Nevada’s first new school funding formula since 1967.

“Dr. McCormick-Lee has the background and skills necessary to lead some of the most important work for the future of Nevada’s education system,” Gov. Sisolak said. “I am confident that her experience and commitment to improving our statewide school system and the outcomes for students across Nevada will make her an effective Chair. I look forward to the Commission’s collaboration with the Department of Education to bring our Pupil-Centered Funding Plan to fruition.”

In addition to being former Associate Superintendent with the Clark County School District, McCormick-Lee is a Visiting Scholar at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas and as founder of NewLeef LLC works with education systems nationwide to increase organizational effectiveness.

Gov. Sisolak also announced he is appointing the nominees submitted by the Nevada Association of School Superintendents (NASS) of four school district chief financial officers; two representing districts with more than 40,000 pupils and two representing districts with fewer than 40,000 pupils:

  • A.J. Feuling, Carson City School District
  • Jason Goudie, Clark County School District
  • Paul Johnson, White Pine School District
  • Mark Mathers, Washoe County School District 

Coming out of the 2019 Legislative Session, Senate Bill 543 creates the 11-member Commission on School Funding to guide the work of the Department of Education to revamp Nevada’s K-12 education funding formula for the first time in over a half century. Total spending on K-12 education in Nevada will top $5 billion annually in fiscal year 2020.



Greg Bortolin
Public Information Officer