Superintendent, Nevada Department of Education Welcome Newest Members of State Board of Education

May 14, 2019

CARSON CITY, Nev. – Jhone Ebert, Superintendent of Public Instruction welcomed Dr. Katherine A. Dockweiler as the newest member of the Nevada State Board of Education.

“Dr. Dockweiler will be able to hit the ground running because she is a practicing school psychologist and recently served on the Governor’s Statewide School Safety Task Force,” Ebert said. “Our board members truly extend themselves, studying education policy and serving on numerous committees beyond their responsibilities to the State Board.”

Governor Steve Sisolak recently appointed Dockweiler as the Parent representative on the board. She replaces Dr. Tonia Holmes-Sutton, who had served on the State Board since 2014. Dockweiler was nominated by the Nevada State Senate. Teri White, from the Douglas County School District, has also recently been appointed as the District Superintendent representative on the board, replacing Dave Jensen, from the Humboldt County School District.

The Nevada State Board of Education acts as an advocate for all children and sets the policy that allows every child equal access to educational services, provides the vision for a premier educational system, and works in partnership with other stakeholders to ensure high levels of success for all in terms of job readiness, graduation, ability to be lifelong learners, problem solvers, citizens able to adapt to a changing world and contributing members of society. The Board is composed of 11 members. Four members are elected from the four congressional districts in Nevada, and seven members, who represent various stakeholder groups, are appointed.


Greg Bortolin
Public Information Officer