Meet the Current Teacher of the Year (TOY)

  • jUrtubey

Juliana Urtubey

Juliana Urtubey, a passionately committed educator and advocate, is the 2021 Nevada State Teacher of the Year. She is the first-ever Latinx Nevada State Teacher of the Year.

On January 27. 2021 The Council of Chief State School Offices (CCSSO) announced that L. Juliana Urtubey was among four exemplary educators from across the country who are finalists for 2021 National Teacher of the Year.

Currently, Ms. Urtubey is teaching in a hybrid learning environment at Booker Elementary School in Las Vegas, Nevada where she serves as a co-teacher in pre-kindergarten through fifth-grade special education settings and as an instructional strategist developing school-wide Multi-Tiered System of Supports for academic, social-emotional, and behavioral interventions.

Urtubey earned a Bachelor of Arts in Bilingual Elementary Education and a Master’s Degree in Special Bilingual Education from the University of Arizona. Urtubey is a National Board Certified Teacher (Exceptional Needs Specialist, Early Childhood and Young Adults).

She is warmly known as “Ms. Earth” for her service and leadership in co-creating an expansive garden and mural program in partnership with her school community including a vast network of students, family members, and community organizations. Her work addresses critical issues of educational equity and access by beautifying the school and unifying the school community.

Urtubey serves as a National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Board Member and Teacher Fellow, a Teach Plus Nevada Senior Policy Fellow, an Understood Teacher Fellow and mentor, a Nevada Department of Education Superintendent’s Teacher Advisory Cabinet member, a National Board Network of Accomplished Minoritized Educators founding board member, and a learning facilitator with the Nevada National Board Professional Learning Institute. She is a recipient of the 2019 Chicanos por La Causa Esperanza Latina Teaching Award, the 2019 Hispanic Education Association of Nevada Teacher of the Year, and a 2018 Rogers Foundation Heart of Education award winner.